2018 NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Tournament

2018 NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Tournament

The 2018 NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Tournament was a single-elimination championship of 68 teams to determine the men’s National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Division I college basketball national champion for its 2017–18 year old. The 80th annual edition of the tournament began on March 13, 2018, and concluded with the championship game on April 2 at the Alamodome in San Antonio, Texas.
Throughout the initial round, UMBC became the first 16-seed to conquer a 1-seed from the men’s tournament by defeating Virginia 74–54. [1][2] For the first time in tournament history, not one of the four top seeded teams in a single area (the South) advanced to the Sweet 16. Also, the tournament featured the very first regional final matchup of a 9-seed (Kansas State) and an 11-seed (Loyola-Chicago).
Villanova, Michigan, Kansas, and Loyola-Chicago, the”Cinderella group” of this tournament, reached the Final Four. Villanova defeated Michigan in the championship game, 79–62.
Atlantic Sun Conference winner Lipscomb made its NCAA tournament debut.
The 2018 championship was the first time since 1978 that not one of the six Division I college basketball-playing schools located in the Washington, DC metropolitan region — American, Georgetown, George Mason, George Washington, Howard, and Maryland — made the NCAA Tournament.

Read more: oneshotfootball.com

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Ndifuna Ukwazi DARE TO KNOW
18 Roeland Street (behind City Varsity)
Cape Town
South Africa

Telephone:  +27 (0)21 012 5094
Email: contact@nu.org.za