2018 NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Tournament

2018 NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Tournament

The 2018 NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Tournament was a single-elimination championship of 68 teams to find out the men’s National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Division I college basketball national champion for its 2017–18 season. The 80th annual edition of this tournament started on March 13, 2018, and concluded with the championship match on April 2 at the Alamodome in San Antonio, Texas.
Throughout the first round, UMBC became the first 16-seed to conquer a 1-seed from the men’s tournament by beating Virginia 74–54. [1][2] For the first time in tournament history, not one of the four top seeded teams in a single region (the South) advanced to the Sweet 16. Additionally, the tournament featured the first regional final matchup of a 9-seed (Kansas State) and also an 11-seed (Loyola-Chicago).
Villanova, Michigan, Kansas, and Loyola-Chicago, the”Cinderella group” of the tournament, reached the Final Four. Villanova defeated Michigan in the championship match, 79–62.
Atlantic Sun Conference champion Lipscomb made its NCAA tournament debut.
The 2018 tournament was the first time since 1978 that none of the six Division I college basketball-playing schools based in the Washington, DC metropolitan region — American, Georgetown, George Mason, George Washington, Howard, and Maryland — created the NCAA Championship.

Read more: boxingonline.tv

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Ndifuna Ukwazi DARE TO KNOW
18 Roeland Street (behind City Varsity)
Cape Town
South Africa

Telephone:  +27 (0)21 012 5094
Email: contact@nu.org.za