Home Fellowship Programme Advisory Committee

Advisory Committee

The Fellowship Coordinator is in the process of finalising additional members for the Advisory Committee for the Fellowship Programme.


Zackie Achmat

Achmat is a long standing anti-apartheid, HIV/AIDS, social justice and LGBTI activist who, among others, co-founded the National Coalition for Gay and Lesbian Equality (NCGLE) in SA. Among other things, he is the founder and former chairperson of the TAC, a SJC secretariat member and co-founder, the chairperson and co-founder of Equal Education, and the former head of the AIDS Law Project. He also sits on the coordination committee of OSS and LDSF and co-convenes the Coalition to End Discrimination. He was nominated with the TAC for a Nobel Peace Prize in 1994 and is a recipient of the Nelson Mandela Award for Health and Human Rights in 2003. He is also a 2010 OSI Fellow and the recipient of several other awards and honours, locally and internationally.


Steven Robins

Steven Robins is a Professor in the Department of Sociology and Social Anthropology at the University of Stellenbosch. He has published on a wide range of topics including the politics of land, ‘development’ and identity in Zimbabwe and South Africa; the Truth & Reconciliation Commission (TRC); urban studies; and most recently on citizenship and governance. His book From Revolution to Rights in South Africa: Social Movements and Popular Politics (2008) focuses on globally connected social movements, NGOs and CBOs that are involved in democratic struggles over access to AIDS treatment, land and housing. He has edited a book entitled Limits to Liberation After Apartheid: Citizenship, Governance and Culture which is published by David Philip, James Currey and Ohio University Press, 2005.


Sandra Liebenberg

Sandy Liebenberg is a Professor in the Faculty of Law at the University of Stellenbosch. She teaches Constitutional Law (Human Rights) and International Law and has published widely in these fields. Her areas of interest include the enforcement of socio-economic rights under both the South; African Constitution and under international human rights law; and equality jurisprudence with particular emphasis on gender equality. She is the editor of a book, The Constitution of South Africa from a Gender Perspective. Her most recent contribution in the field of socio-economic rights includes editing and contributing an article to a special two-part edition of the journal, Law Democracy & Development on Socio-Economic Rights and Transformation in South Africa. She have also completed an updated chapter on socio-economic rights in M Chaskalson et al (eds), Constitutional Law of South Africa.

No tags for this post.