Michigan–Michigan State football rivalry

Michigan–Michigan State football rivalry

The Michigan–Michigan State football Competition is an American School football rivalry between the University of Michigan Wolverines and Michigan State University Spartans.

Since 1953, the winner of every calendar year’s game has obtained the Paul Bunyan Trophy. The teams played in 1898 and have met virtually every year since 1910 (exceptions in 1943 and 1944). 44 of those first 50 games were played in Ann Arbor, but since then, U of M and MSU have played 30 home games against each other. The competition became a summit rivalry with Michigan State’s entrance into the Big Six Conference in 1950.
The teams have fulfilled 111 times with Michigan winning 70 games, Michigan State winning 36 matches, and five matches end with the score tied. Michigan dominated the series for the first half century, compiling a 33–6–3 record from 1898 to 1949. The wave shifted to Michigan State in the 1950s and 1960s, as the Spartans under head coaches Biggie Munn and Duffy Daugherty compiled a 14–4–two album from 1950 to 1969. The wave then changed back to the Wolverines as Michigan compiled a 30–8 album against the Spartans from 1970 to 2007. Since 2008, Michigan State has dominated the show with an 8–3 record.
Michigan State’s longest winning streak against Michigan is four matches. Michigan’s longest winning streak against Michigan State is 14 games.

Read more: montanayouthrugby.org

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Ndifuna Ukwazi DARE TO KNOW
18 Roeland Street (behind City Varsity)
Cape Town
South Africa

Telephone:  +27 (0)21 012 5094
Email: contact@nu.org.za