Mpho is our Executive Director, specialising in constitutional law and human rights litigation. She is passionate about building people's power through education and political conscientisation.
mpho@nu.org.za
MPHO RABOEANE

Executive Director

Buhle is our head of political organising. He is the former deputy chairperson of Equal Education, and is completing a BA in Education with a focus in engineering, graphics, design and isiXhosa. He is interested in building solidarity across land and housing struggles to advance urban land justice in Cape Town.
buhle@nu.org.za
BUHLE BOOI

Head of Political Organising

Disha Govender is a seasoned attorney with a decade's experience in litigation and dispute resolution. She specialises in constitutional and public Interest litigation, and heads the Ndifuna Ukwazi Law Centre. She is passionate about social justice and making the law more undertandable and accessible so that it can be used by those who need it the most to achieve social change.
disha@nu.org.za
DISHA GOVENDER

Head of Ndifuna Ukwazi Law Centre

Mufaro is our head of operations and finance. He has a dedicated history working with civic and social organisations. His passion lies in developing and implementing strong operational and financial tools to support non-profit organisations.
mufaro@nu.org.za
MUFARO MAGIDI

Head of Operations & Finance

Nozi is a researcher at Ndifuna Ukwazi. She holds a Master's degree in Urban and Regional Planning and has a special interest in both rural and urban planning, feminist planning and spatially just South Africa.
nozi@nu.org.za
Nozi Sigwela

Researcher

Nick is a researcher at Ndifuna Ukwazi. His work mainly focuses on urban policy, municipal governance, the use of public land and the delivery of affordable housing through both the state and the private sector. He believes that a fairer, more equitable and more just city is possible. Nick holds a Master’s in Urban Planning.
nick@nu.org.za
Nick Budlender

Researcher

Zami is our researcher. His work is mainly invested in transformation and creating sustainable communities. He holds a degree and honorary degree in housing and development studies majoring in policy development, analysis, research, variation of development models and alternative strategies for addressing the prevailing development and environmental problems. His interest is in the project planning, packaging and implementation for the development of communities through spatially targeted solutions that aim to address the imbalances of the past and the present
zami@nu.org.za
Zamindlela Mkhwanazi

Researcher

Lula is our legal intern. She holds an LLB (cum laude) from UCT. She is interested in the aspirational quality of law and its capacity to affect social and economic change.
lula@nu.org.za
Lula Grant

Legal Intern

Yusrah is a communications specialist with a background in the arts and culture sector. She is currently pursuing her LLB in addition to her Honours degree in Dramatic Arts from the University of Cape Town.
yusrah@nu.org.za
YUSRAH BARDIEN

Communications & Engagement Officer

Zach is our Communications and Media Officer. He is passionate about multimedia communications and believes in building solidarity among communities through the power of storytelling. He holds a BA in Journalism and a certificate in Photojournalism and Documentary Photography.
zacharia@nu.org.za
ZACHARIA MASHELE

Media & Communications Officer

Phumeza is our office keeper.
phumeza@nu.org.za
Phumeza Klaas

Office Keeper

Caitlin is an attorney in our law centre. She holds an LLB and a Bachelor of Social Science from UCT with distinction. She has a passion for social justice, in particular, access to affordable housing and creating more inclusive cities. She believes the law can be used as a tool to drive social change.
caitlin@nu.org.za
Caitlin Turok

Attorney

Jonty is an attorney in our law centre. He specialises in constitutional property law and human rights litigation. He holds a PhD from the University of Cape Town, which explores the constitutional commitment towards redistribution in the private law of succession.
jonty@nu.org.za
JONTY COGGER

Attorney

Nozipho serves as our Finance Administrator, driven by a deep commitment to bolster the organisation's programs and activities, ensuring their seamless operation and maximum impact. Her extensive experience is rooted in the nonprofit sector, where she has honed her financial expertise.
nkamana@nu.org.za
Nozipho Kamana

Finance Administrator

Kenneth Matlawe is our political organiser. He has experience in leading a community based organisation, specialises in movement building and the realisation of collective community power.
kenneth@nu.org.za
Kenneth Matlawe

Political organiser

Luyanda is a political organiser at Ndifuna Ukwazi. He specialises in movement support, solidarity building among communities, and finding creative ways to hold those in power accountable.
luyanda@nu.org.za
LUYANDA MTAMZELI

Political Organiser

Ntombi is a political organiser at Ndifuna Ukwazi. She is committed to improving the living conditions of vulnerable people and passionate about achieving justice and equality, and safeguarding human rights. Ntombi recently completed a paralegal qualification.
ntombi@nu.org.za
NTOMBIZANELE SAMBU

Political Organiser

Aphiwe our Popular Education Officer. She has a background in journalism and digital marketing, and has an interest in using various media and tools to ensure representation and inclusion. 
aphiwe@nu.org.za
APHIWE NGALO

Popular Education Officer

Nozuko is our general assistant. She supports all our operations by taking care of the workspace and regular office tasks. In 2020, she completed a certificate in computer literacy with Silulo Ulutho Technologies.
nozuko@nu.org.za
NOZUKO NGUGO

General Assistant

JOIN OUR TEAM

We are a dynamic and talented team of community organisers, lawyers, educators, storytellers and researchers fighting to advance urban land justice and fuelling systemic change. We’re always looking for passionate people who are interested in advocating for a more equal, spatially just and inclusive city. If you’re committed to social justice and would like to contribute to building a better city, then we want to hear from you! See what job opportunities we have available and join the fight.

Join our team